Illinois State Library

Illinois Center for the Book


Individual Author Record

General Information

Name:  Chad Sell  

Pen Name: None

Genre: Fiction

Audience: Children;

Born: , in


-- Twitter -- https://twitter.com/chadsell01
-- Website -- /https://chadsellcomics.com/


Illinois Connection

Sell lives in Chicago.

Biographical and Professional Information

Chad Sell grew up in a small town in central Wisconsin. He lived in a neighborhood much like the Cardboard Kingdom where he and his friends bounded through backyards in imaginative games and outfits! He also drew a lot and came up with all kinds of colorful characters. His favorites were often the villains, because despite being different and misunderstood, they were powerful, confident, and got the best costumes.


Published Works Expand for more information


Titles At Your Library

The Cardboard Kingdom
ISBN: 1524719382

Knopf Books for Young Readers. 2018

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier, Awkward, and All's Faire in Middle School, this graphic novel follows a neighborhood of kids who transform ordinary cardboard into fantastical homemade costumes as they explore conflicts with friends, family, and their own identity.

"A breath of fresh air, this tender and dynamic collection is a must-have." --Kirkus, Starred

Welcome to a neighborhood of kids who transform ordinary boxes into colorful costumes, and their ordinary block into cardboard kingdom. This is the summer when sixteen kids encounter knights and rogues, robots and monsters--and their own inner demons--on one last quest before school starts again.

In the Cardboard Kingdom, you can be anything you want to be--imagine that!

The Cardboard Kingdom was created, organized, and drawn by Chad Sell with writing from ten other authors: Jay Fuller, David DeMeo, Katie Schenkel, Kris Moore, Molly Muldoon, Vid Alliger, Manuel Betancourt, Michael Cole, Cloud Jacobs, and Barbara Perez Marquez. The Cardboard Kingdom affirms the power of imagination and play during the most important years of adolescent identity-searching and emotional growth.

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY KIRKUS REVIEWS * THE NEW YORK PUBLIC LIBRARY * SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL *

"There's room for everyone inside The Cardboard Kingdom, where friendship and imagination reign supreme." --Ingrid Law, New York Times bestselling author of Savvy

"A timely and colorful graphic novel debut that, like its many offbeat but on-point characters, marches to the beat of its own cardboard drum." --Tim Federle, award-winning author of Better Nate Than Ever


Awards

  • Starred Reviews - Kirkus, Publishers Weekly, School Library Journal, Bulletin and Booklist, The Cardboard Kingdom

    Speaking Engagements

    Speaking Engagement Availability: Yes.