Illinois Authors

The Illinois Center for the Book banner

Paul Harvey Aurandt

Born: September 4, 1918 in Tulsa, Oklahoma
Pen Name: Paul Harvey

Connection to Illinois: Aurandt moved to Chicago in June 1944 and lived there until retiring to Arizona.

Biography: Aurandt, who went by the hame of Paul Harvey, was a Chicago radio broadcaster for the ABC Radio Networks and a newspaper columnist. His syndicated newspaper column was at one time carried in 300 newspapers. His ''News and Comment'' was broadcast on weekday mornings and mid-days, and at noon on Saturdays, as were his famous ''The Rest of the Story'' segments. Over his 57 years on national radio, his programs were carried by 1,200 radio stations, plus an additional 400 stations of American Forces Radio. At his peak, his listening audience was estimated at 25 million people a week. He was called ''the voice of Middle America'' and ''the voice of the Silent Majority''. 'Paul Harvey was the most listened to man in the history of radio,' said Bruce DuMont, president of the Museum of Broadcast Communications and host of the nationally syndicated ''Beyond the Beltway''. 'There is no one who will ever come close to him.'


Primary Literary Genre(s): Non-Fiction

Primary Audience(s): Adult readers

Paul Harvey Aurandt on WorldCat :

Selected Titles

  Destiny :
ISBN: 0553243640 OCLC: 11107026

Bantam Books, Toronto ; 1984, ©1983.

Destiny :
ISBN: 0688022057 OCLC: 9995081

Morrow, New York : 1983.

Stories/ Begins with the burial of John Scott Harrison. His body was stolen by grave robbrs. Whether the body snatcher5s knew it or not, the body they pulled belonged to the only man history remembers as the son of one U.S. president and the father of another!

  More of Paul Harvey's The rest of the story
ISBN: 0553145940 OCLC: 7426245

Bantam Books, Toronto ; 1981, ©1980.

  More of Paul Harvey's The rest of the story /
ISBN: 0688036694 OCLC: 6016325

W. Morrow, New York : 1980.

Paul Harvey's The rest of the story
ISBN: 0553259628 OCLC: 4225154

Bantam Books, New York : 1978, ©1977.