Illinois State Library

Illinois Center for the Book

Individual Author Record

General Information

Name:  Sherwood Anderson  

Pen Name: None


Audience: Adult;

Born: September 13, 1876 in Camden, Ohio

Died: March 8, 1941 in Panama

-- The Sherwood Anderson Collection, Virginia Tech University Libraries --
-- Classical Authors Directory: Sherwood Anderson --
-- Sherwood Anderson on WorldCat --

Illinois Connection

Anderson worked as an advertising copywriter in Chicago.

Biographical and Professional Information

Sherwood Anderson was an important figure in the Chicago Renaissance, the movement that attracted world-wide attention to Chicago as a literary center around the time of the First World War. He was an important novelist, short story writer, essayist, poet and dramatist. He is most notable for his short stories, a number of which draw upon his Chicago experiences. Collections include ''Wintesburg, Ohio'' (1919), ''The Triumph of the Egg'' (1921), ''Horses and Men'' (1923) and ''Death in the Woods'' (1933). Novels include ''Poor White'' (1920), ''Dark Laughter'' (1925) and ''Beyond Desire'' (1932).

Published Works

  • Windy McPherson's Son, John Lane Company, 1916
  • Marching Men, John Lane Company, 1917
  • Winesburg, Ohio, B.W. Huebsch, 1919
  • Poor White, B.W. Huebsch, 1920
  • The Triumph of the Egg, B.W. Huebsch, 1921
  • Horses and Men, B.W. Huebsch, 1921
  • Many Marriages, B.W. Huebsch, 1923
  • A Story-Teller's Story, B.W. Huebsch, 1924
  • Modern Writer, Lantern Press, 1925
  • Dark Laughter, Boni & Liveright, 1925
  • Sherwood Anderson's Notebook, Boni & Liveright, 1926
  • Tar, A Midwest Childhood, Boni & Liverright, 1926
  • Hello Towns, Horace Liveright, 1929
  • Alice: the Lost Novel, E. Matthews Marrot, 1929
  • Nearer the Grass Roots, Westgate Press, 1929
  • Perhaps Women, H. Liveright, 1931
  • Beyond Desire, Boni & Liveright, 1932
  • Death in the Woods and Other Stories, Boni & Liveright, 1933
  • No Swank, The Centaur Press, 1934
  • Puzzled America, Scribner, 1935
  • Kit Brandon, C. Scribner's Sons, 1936
  • Dreiser: A Biography, 1936
  • Home Town, Alliance Book Corporation, 1940
  • San Francisco at Christmas, Quercus, 1941
  • Sherwood Anderson's Memoirs, Harcourt, Brace, 1942Published posthumously:
  • Lives of Animals, Creative Co, 1966
  • Return to Winesburg, Ohio, University of North Carolina Press, 1967
  • Sherwood Anderson, the Writer at His Craft, P. P. Appel, 1979
  • The Teller's Tale, Union College Press, 1983
  • The Sherwood Anderson Diaries: 1936-1941, 1987
  • Sherwood Anderson: Early Writings, Kent State University Press, 1989
  • Certain Things Last: The Selected Short Stories of Sherwood Anderson, Thunder's Mouth Press, 1995
  • Southern Odyssey: Selected Writings by Sherwood Anderson, University of Georgia Press, 1997

Selected Titles At Your Library

Winesburg, Ohio /
ISBN: 0199540721. OCLC Number:

Oxford University Press,. Oxford ;. 2008.

Winesburg, Ohio (1919) is Sherwood Anderson's masterpiece, a cycle of short stories concerning life in a small town at the end of the nineteenth century.

Poor white
ISBN: 1604249730. OCLC Number:

Book jungle. Champaign. [ca. 2005]

Horses and men /
ISBN: 0742655016. OCLC Number:

Classic Books,. S.L. :. 2001.

A story teller's story :
ISBN: 0472030833. OCLC Number:

University of Michigan Press,. Ann Arbor :. 2005.

A story teller's story :
ISBN: 0472030833. OCLC Number:

University of Michigan Press,. Ann Arbor :. 2005.

Nearer the grass roots /
ISBN: 0848200837. OCLC Number:

Norwood Editions,. Norwood, Pa. :. 1977.

ISBN: 1473303338. OCLC Number:

READ Books,. [Place of publication not identified],. 2013.

Puzzled America.
ISBN: 0911858075. OCLC Number:

P.P. Appel,. Mamaroneck, N.Y.,. 1970 [©1935]

Home town /
ISBN: 0911858113. OCLC Number:

P.P. Appel,. Mamaroneck, N.Y. :. 1975.

Lives of animals.
ISBN: 0871910071. OCLC Number:

Creative Co,. [Place of publication not identified] :. 1966.

The teller's tales /
ISBN: 091275608X. OCLC Number:

Union College Press,. Schenectady, N.Y. :. [©1983]

The Sherwood Anderson diaries, 1936-1941 /
ISBN: 0820309087. OCLC Number:

University of Georgia Press,. Athens, GA :. ©1987.

Sherwood Anderson :
ISBN: 0873383745. OCLC Number:

Kent State University Press,. Kent, Ohio :. ©1989.

Certain things last :
ISBN: 0941423859. OCLC Number:

Four Walls Eight Windows,. New York :. ©1992.

Until now there has never been a selection of Anderson's best short fiction. Certain Things Last is the first one-volume edition of Anderson's stories. But what makes this book truly remarkable is that five of Anderson's very best stories appear in print here for the first time. They are: "Certain Things Last," "Fred," "The Red Dog," "Mrs. Wife," and "The Masterpiece." The discovery of these new stories makes Certain Things Last an unprecedented publishing event. The short story, not the novel or autobiography, was the form in which Sherwood Anderson excelled. And the American short story probably owes more to Sherwood Anderson than to any other American writer. It was Anderson who wrested short fiction from the upbeat conventionality of the popular magazines of the 1920s and '30s and molded it to express the isolation of individual people.

Southern odyssey :
ISBN: 082031899X. OCLC Number:

University of Georgia Press,. Athens :. ©1997.

"The best of Sherwood Anderson's writings about the region where he spent the last sixteen years of his life. In more than forty selections of journalism and fiction, Anderson explores the people and problems of the South."


  • Name engraved on the frieze of the Illinois State Library alongside other great Illinois literary figures, 1990
  • Chicago Literary Hall of Fame, 2012