Illinois State Library

Illinois Center for the Book


Individual Author Record

General Information

Name:  Amy Krause Rosenthal  

Pen Name: None

Genre: Fiction Non-Fiction

Audience: Adult; Young Adult; Children;

Born: April 29, 1965, in Chicago

Died: March 13, 2017, in Chicago


-- Website -- http://www.whoisamy.com/
-- Amy Krause Rosenthal on WorldCat -- http://www.worldcat.org/search?q=amy+krause+rosenthal


Illinois Connection

Rosenthal was a native Chicagoan.

Biographical and Professional Information

Amy Krause Rosenthal was a prolific award-winning author with more than 40 titles for children and adults to her credit. At the time of her death, she had written seven additional books which will be forthcoming. A number of Rosenthal’s children’s books were New York Times bestsellers.


Published Works Expand for more information


Titles At Your Library

Little Oink
ISBN: 1452153191

Chronicle Books. 2017

Little Oink is a neat little fellow. Clean, clean, clean, that's all he wants to do. But Mama and Papa won't have it! They say in order to be a proper pig he has to learn to make a proper mess. What's a little pig to do? Now available as a board book, Little Oink shows Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Jen Corace applying their traditionally wry humor to the issue of cleaning up, in a laugh-out-loud romp that is sure to make readers giggle with recognition.

On the Spot: Countless Funny Stories
ISBN: 1101932309

Random House Books for Young Readers. 2017

Transform an ordinary story into a silly one with stickers or found objects in this Mad Libs–esque adventure! For fans of Press Here and Tap the Magic Tree.

New York Times
bestselling author Amy Krouse Rosenthal (Uni the Unicorn and I Wish You More), Lea Redmond, and Sanne te Loo have created a picture book with a story that rhymes and very lovely illustrations. But, oops—they’ve left out some important pieces of the story . . . and it’s up to YOU to fill them in!

Step 1: Grab any small object or pick stickers from the back of the book. Step 2: Place them on the blank spots as you read along. Step 3: Laugh at the crazy story you’ve just created. Step 4: Pick new items and start all over again!

Story time will take on a new dimension of play as kids use the stickers or scamper in search of the most hilarious items to occupy the blank spaces in the text. The endlessly innovative Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Lea Redmond bring us a way-outside-the-box adventure in which readers get to bend the rules and feel a bit rebellious as they tamper with the ordinary and expected.

That's Me Loving You
ISBN: 1101932384

Random House Books for Young Readers. 2016

From the author of the New York Times bestselling author of I Wish You More comes a book that promises continuous love and makes the perfect gift for fans of Emily Winfield Martin's The Wonderful Things You Will Be and those looking for something new to add to their shelves next to the classic The Runaway Bunny.

Wherever you are,
Wherever you go,
Always remember
And always know. . .

That feeling you always have in your heart?

That's me loving you.

Amy Krouse Rosenthal captures parents’ desire to be ever-present in this simple and touching poem offering reassurance of their love. Signs of affection can be found in the natural world around us—from a soft breeze to a shimmering star.

"Combine this with a kissing hand, and children will be ready to set off on their own to explore the world, safe in the knowledge that they are loved." —Kirkus Reviews

Holy Cow, I Sure Do Love You!: A Little Book That's Oddly Moo-ving
ISBN: 1419722174

Abrams Image. 2016

New York Times bestselling authors, Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Tom Lichtenheld return with an illustrated love note for your nearest and dearest, filled with moo-ving declarations uttered by one adorable cow.

Like their New York Times bestseller I Wish You More, this humorous book is both an uplifting gift book for adults and a heartfelt picture book for children. “Moo-ooh baby, I sure do love you” is the opening line, narrated by a spotted cow drawn in simple emotive brushstrokes that are a Lichtenheld signature. “I love you every which way . . . good moo-d, bad moo-d, weepy moo-d, weird moo-d,” the cow continues in a string of bovine puns: “I also love pizza, but that’s a moo-t point.” Drawn primarily in black and white on brown craft paper, the illustrations are simple, sophisticated, and appealing to all types of readers and all kinds of relationships—the gender- and race-neutral cow is the perfect proxy for all of us.

A wonderful valentine for a sweetheart, a loving gift for a grandparent, or a read-aloud message to a child, Holy Cow conveys deep feelings of affection and appreciation with the lighthearted humor for which the children’s book bestselling duo Rosenthal and Lichtenheld are known.

Exclamation Mark
ISBN: 0545436796

Scholastic Press. 2013

A perfect gift for graduation!

He stood out here.

He stood out there.

He tried everything to be more like them.

It's not easy being seen. Especially when you're NOT like everyone else. Especially when what sets you apart is YOU.

Sometimes we squish ourselves to fit in. We shrink. Twist. Bend. Until -- ! -- a friend shows the way to endless possibilities.

In this bold and highly visual book, an emphatic but misplaced exclamation point learns that being different can be very exciting! Period.

I Scream! Ice Cream!: A Book of Wordles
ISBN: 1452100047

Chronicle Books. 2013

What do "I Scream!" and "Ice Cream!" have in common? Nothing—besides the fact that they sound the same! The ever-surprising Amy Krouse Rosenthal unleashes her prolific wit in this silly and smart book of wordplay. Perfectly complemented by equally clever illustrations from the talented and internationally renowned Serge Bloch, this mind-bending book will have young readers thinking about words i