Illinois State Library

Illinois Center for the Book

Individual Author Record

General Information

Name:  Janet Loxley Lewis  

Pen Name: Janet Lewis, Janet Lewis Winters

Genre: Fiction Poetry

Audience: Adult;

Born: 1899 in Chicago, Illinois

Died: 1998 in Los Altos, California

-- Janet Loxley Lewis on WorldCat --

Illinois Connection

Lewis was born and raised in Chicago. She was a graduate of the University of Chicago, where she was a member of a literary circle that included her future husband Yvor Winters. She was an active member of the University of Chicago Poetry Club.

Biographical and Professional Information

Janet Lewis was a novelist, poet, and short-story writer whose literary career spanned almost the entire twentieth century. The New York Times has praised her novels as “some of the 20th century’s most vividly imagined and finely wrought literature.” Born and educated in Chicago, she lived in California for most of her adult life and taught at both Stanford University and the University of California at Berkeley. Her works include Good-Bye, Son and Other Stories (1946).

Selected Titles At Your Library

The wife of Martin Guerre /
ISBN: 0804003211. OCLC Number:

. .

Against a darkening sky /
ISBN: 0804008663. OCLC Number:

Swallow Press/Ohio University Press,. Athens, Ohio :. 1985, ©1943.

The trial of Sören Qvist /
ISBN: 0804002975. OCLC Number:

Swallow Press/Ohio University Press,. Athens, Ohio :. 2013.

The ghost of Monsieur Scarron /
ISBN: 0804001332. OCLC Number:

Swallow,. Chicago :. 1981, ©1959.

The invasion :
ISBN: 0870134957. OCLC Number:

Michigan State University Press,. East Lansing :. ©2000.

Poems old and new, 1918-1978 /
ISBN: 0804003726. OCLC Number:

Swallow Press ;. Chicago :. ©1981.