Illinois State Library

Illinois Center for the Book


Individual Author Record

General Information

Name:  Terra Brockman  

Pen Name: None

Genre: Non-Fiction

Audience: Adult; Young Adult;

Born: in Florida


-- Website -- http://www.terrabrockman.com
-- Terra Brockman on WorldCat -- http://www.worldcat.org/search?q=terra+brockman


Illinois Connection

Brockman's family roots are in Illinois and she now lives in Congerville, Illinois.

Biographical and Professional Information

Ms. Brockman is a writer, speaker, and food and farm advocate. She has lived, worked and studied in Japan, California, and several other countries.


Speaking Engagements

Speaking Engagement Availability (Yes) Contact author at [mailto:terra.brockman@gmail.com terra.brockman@gmail.com].

Selected Titles At Your Library

A student's guide to Italian American genealogy /
ISBN: 0897749731. OCLC Number: 33863123

Oryx Press,. .

A step-by-step guide to genealogical research for students of Italian American descent or those interested in Italian Americans.

The job hunter's guide to Japan /
ISBN: 0870119842. OCLC Number: 21079995

Kodansha International,. .

The Seasons on Henry's Farm :
ISBN: 9781572846562. OCLC Number: 704257909

Agate Pub.,. .

Part farm journal, part memoir, this story of a five-generation Illinois farming family takes readers from the soil to the supper table through 52 meditative, closely observed seasons on an organic farm, accented with culinary, historical, scientific, and literary reflections and culminating with a bounty of foolproof, fresh-flavored seasonal recipes.

The seasons on Henry's farm :
ISBN: 157284115X. OCLC Number: 648922195

Agate,. .

Henry's Farm, run by Henry Brockman, is in central Illinois and some of the richest farming land in the world. There, he and his family, five generations of farmers, including sister Terra, the author, have bucked the traditional agribusiness conventional wisdom by farming in a way that's sensible, sustainable, and focused on producing healthy, nutritious food in ways that doesn't despoil the land. Terra Brockman tells the story of her family and their life on the farm in the form of a year-long memoir (with recipes) that takes readers through each season of life on the farm. Studded with vignettes, digressions, photographs, family stories, and illustrations of the farm's vivid plant life, the book is a one-of-a-kind treasure that will appeal to readers of Michael Pollan, E.B. White, Gretel Ehrlich, and Sandra Steingraber.