Illinois State Library

Illinois Center for the Book

Individual Author Record

General Information

Name:  Jim Kraus  

Pen Name: None


Audience: Adult;

Born: in

-- Jim Kraus on WorldCat --

Illinois Connection

Kraus lives in Wheaton.

Biographical and Professional Information

Jim Kraus is an award-winning writer and editor who has authored or co-authored more than 20 books (many with his wife, Terri). He grew up in Western Pennsylvania and is a graduate of the University of Pittsburgh. He attended the Paris-American Academy in 1971 and is vice-president of a major Christian publishing house. He is also an award-winning photographer.

Published Works Expand for more information

Titles At Your Library

Pirates of the Heart (Treasures of the Caribbean #1)
ISBN: 0842303812

Tyndale House. 1996

William, a privateer wronged by nobility throughout his childhood, sees his chance for revenge on the upper class when he has an opportunity to raid an English ship carrying Kathryne, whom he believes to be a spoiled young noblewoman.

Passages of Gold (Treasures of the Caribbean #2)
ISBN: 0842303820

Tyndale House Publishers. 1997

This historical novel is set on the island of Barbados and features romance, treachery, piracy, and gold. Honor and courage are summoned in the quest to save treasure and reputation.

Journey to the Crimson Sea (Treasures of the Caribbean #3)
ISBN: 0842303839

Tyndale House Publishers. 1997

Authors Jim and Terri Kraus conclude their trilogy of Treasures of the Caribbean in Journey to the Crimson Sea. The 17th-century Caribbean island of Barbados hosts this unique story of love, loyalty, and adventure. The meaning of forgiveness is tested as Vicar Thomas Mayhew falls in love with the reformed prostitute Eileen Palmerston. Their relationship is questioned by many on the island, including Vicar Petley, who seeks to excommunicate Thomas for bringing shame to the church. Thomas faces a difficult choice: Stay with the woman he plans to marry or retain his position as vicar. And no swashbuckling adventure would be complete without a search for buried treasure and a final clash with pirates on the high seas. Journey to the Crimson Sea delivers romance, adventure, and spiritual insights in an exotic setting that all readers can enjoy.

The Price (Circle of Destiny #1)
ISBN: 0842318356

Tyndale House Publishers. 2000

Value priced!

The Price is the first in a historical four-book fiction series about the California Gold Rush by the writing team of Jim and Terri Kraus. When the lure of gold pulls Joshua Quittner away from the small church he is pastoring, he must choose between material wealth and peace with God. Only when he discovers the true meaning of love and sacrifice does Joshua find true fulfillment.

The Treasure (The Circle of Destiny #2)
ISBN: 0842318364

Tyndale House Publishers. 2000

The Treasure is the second book in the four-book Circle of Destiny series set during the 1800s Gold Rush. Four college friends begin a life adventure that will change their thinking and their perspective forever. The Treasure's protagonist, Gage Davis, begins running his father's business after graduation and learns about life the hard way. Gage's greatest pain and deepest joy teach him that money cannot buy life's greatest treasure.

The Promise (Circle of Destiny #3)
ISBN: 0842318372

Tyndale House Publishers. 2001

Hannah Morgan Collins dreams of becoming the first woman doctor in Massachusetts. But must she give up her desires of home and family to do so? Enrolled at Harvard against her parents' wishes, she meets new friends who will impact her life forever. There's the preacher-to-be Joshua Quittner, the cynical journalist Jamison Pike, and the made-of-money Gage Davis. And what of Lucretia Mott, whose passion for women's rights causes Hannah to wonder how she herself could change the world? This beautiful coming-of-age novel takes Hannah on a lifelong search through pain and joy to a place of heartfelt peace.

The Quest (Circle of Destiny #4)
ISBN: 0842318380

Tyndale House Publishers. 2001

The Quest details the journey of young Jamison Pike as he leaves home and travels the world in search of the ultimate truth: the meaning of life. Despite finding fame and fortune through his writing and travels, Jamison finds that without Christ, his life remains empty and filled with longing.

The Unfolding (Stories from McKenzie Street #1)
ISBN: 1586608592

Barbour Publishing, Incorporated. 2003

Annie Hamilton doesn't expect her life to change dramatically when she opens her modest home to a rootless and pregnant neighbor. But when the young woman abandons her newborn son, Annie summons her courage and decides to raise the baby as her own. All is well--until the day the birth mother returns to claim her child. Distraught, Annie searches for answers--and finds them in the most unlikely places. Can this path of darkness be the way that God unfolds His plan for her? This deeply moving story will open readers' eyes to the power of redeeming love--and the power of faith.

The Choosing (Stories from McKenzie Street #2)
ISBN: 159310104X

Barbour Publishing, Incorporated. 2004

The saga of Annie Hamilton, first introduced in the Stories from MacKenzie Street Series book The Unfolding, continues in The Choosing. Single and raising an adopted toddler. Annie feels too old for romance--but her son needs a father. Her situation is the talk of the Chicago community where she works as an artist, owns and operates a laundromat, and attends church. When two interesting men enter her life--one not of her faith and one not of her age--can Annie's life become any more complicated? Will she listen to her heart or follow what others think is best for her?

The Dog That Talked to God
ISBN: 1426742568

Abingdon Press. 2012

Recently widowed Mary Fassler buys a Miniature Schnauzer, Rufus, and her world is turned sideways in the midst of her grief. It seems that Rufus speaks. And not just to her. He also talks to God. When Rufus begins sharing advice that could result in major changes, Mary gets the feeling the pooch might not be steering her in the right direction. Or, is she just afraid to take the leap and discover something she desperately needs? Only Rufus...and God...knows.

"Jim Kraus has written a funny, heartfelt novel in the tradition of Garth Stein and John Grogan. For a long time dogs have been man's best friend. It only made sense one would finally come along to save our souls." - Rob Stennett author, Homemade Haunting and The Almost True Story Of Ryan Fisher

"I loved this story. Quirky and unusual, this unique tale wove a spell around me and drew me in. It wasn't what I expected at all, and when I turned the last page, it left me wanting more." - Ane Mulligan, Sr. Editor of Novel Rocket

"The Dog That Talked to God is a moving and powerful read, inspirational long after the last page has been turned." - New York Journal of Books

The Cat That God Sent
ISBN: 1426765614

Abingdon Press. 2013

Jake Wilkerson, a disillusioned young pastor who is an expert at hiding his fears, takes on a new assignment at a small rural church in Coudersport, Pennsylvania--which is a far piece from anywhere and full of curiously odd and eccentric people. His first day on the job, he is adopted by Petey--a cat of unknown origins and breed--but a very sentient cat who believes that he is on a mission from God to redeem Jake and bring him back to the truth. Jake must confront his doubts early on when he meets Emma Grainger, a single woman and a veterinarian who dismisses all Christians as "those people." Then, Tassy, a young