Illinois State Library

Illinois Center for the Book


Individual Author Record

General Information

Name:  Marianne Malone  

Pen Name: None

Genre: Fiction

Audience: Young Adult; Children;

Born:


-- Website -- http://www.mariannemalone.com/index.html
-- Marianne Malone on WorldCat -- http://www.worldcat.org/search?q=marianne+malone


Illinois Connection

Malone grew up in Chicago. She went to the University of Illinois and currently resides in Urbana.

Biographical and Professional Information

Marianne Malone is a former art teacher and co-founder of the Campus Middle School for Girls in Urbana, Illinois.


Published Works Expand for more information


Titles At Your Library

The Sixty-Eight Rooms (The Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventures)
ISBN: 0375857117

Yearling. 2011

The perfect next step for kids who love the Magic Tree House series, time travel, mystery, and adventure!

Almost everybody who has grown up in Chicago knows about the Thorne Rooms. Housed in the deep inside the Chicago Art Institute, they are a collection of 68 exquisitely crafted miniature rooms. Each room is set in a different historic period, and every detail is perfect. Some might even say, the rooms are magic.

But what if on a field trip, you discovered a key that allowed you to shrink so that you could sneak inside and explore the rooms' secrets? What if you discovered that others had done so before you? . . . And that someone had left something important behind?

Eleven-year-olds Jack and Ruthie are about to find out!


"Irresistible."—The New York Times

"Marianne Malone has tapped into a fantasy that is . . . completely universal."—Chicago Tribune

"A solid story. Recommend this book to fans of Blue Balliett’s Chasing Vermeer."—School Library Journal

Stealing Magic: A Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventure (The Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventures)
ISBN: 0375867902

Yearling. 2013

Fans of magic, mystery, and adventure will love this rollicking sequel to The Sixty-Eight Rooms—a perfect next step for kids who love the Magic Tree House series, and just right for readers who love Chasing Vermeer, The Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, and Wonderstruck. Sixth graders Ruthie and Jack thought their adventures in the Thorne Rooms were over, until miniatures from the rooms start to disappear. Is it the work of the art thief who's on the loose in Chicago? Or has someone else discovered the secret of the Thorne Rooms' magic? Ruthie and Jack's quest to stop the thief takes them from modern day Chicago to 1937 Paris to antebellum South Carolina. But as more items disappear, including the key that allows them to shrink and access the past worlds, what was once just an adventure becomes a life and death race against the clock. Can Ruthie and Jack catch the thief and help the friends they meet on the way before the magic—and the rooms—are destroyed forever?

Here's What People Are Saying about The Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventures!
The New York Times:
"Irresistible."

Chicago Sun-Times:
"Exhilarating."

Chicago Tribune:
"Marianne Malone has tapped into a fantasy that is . . . completely universal."

The Pirate's Coin: A Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventure (The Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventures)
ISBN: 030797720X

Yearling. 2014

Fans of magic, mystery, and adventure will love the third The Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventure—a perfect next step for kids who love the Magic Tree House series, and just right for readers who love Chasing Vermeer, The Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, and Wonderstruck. Sixth Graders Ruthie and Jack return to the Art Institute of Chicago's magical Thorne Rooms. During a school presentation, Ruthie and Jack discover that their classmate Kendra is descended from Phoebe Monroe, the young slave they befriended when they traveled to 19th-century South Carolina. Kendra tells them that long ago her family lost their good name and their business selling herbal remedies when mobsters accused them of stealing the recipes! Only Ruthie and Jack know the truth--because only they know about the secret ledger that Phoebe wrote the recipes in long ago! Ruthie and Jack's mission to clear Kendra's name takes them back to the Thorne Rooms, where a mysterious old coin leads them to 1753 Cape Cod and to Jack's own ancestor . . . the pirate Jack Norfleet! But playing with history can be dangerous! Suddenly, Jack's very existence is in jeopardy! Can Ruthie and Jack find the proof they need to help Kendra? And can they fix the past and save Jack's future . . . before it's too late?

Here's What People Are Saying about The Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventures!
The New York Times:
"Irresistible."

Chicago Sun-Times:
"Exhilarating."

Chicago Tribune:
"Marianne Malone has tapped into a fantasy that is . . . completely universal."





From the Hardcover edition.

The Secret of the Key: A Sixty-eight Rooms Adventure (The Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventures)
ISBN: 0307977218

Random House Books for Young Readers. 2014

In the conclusion to the Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventures, sixth-graders Ruthie and Jack discover two out-of-place magical rings in the Art Institute of Chicago's Thorne Rooms as well as an open portal leading them to 17th-century England, where they meet a secretive governess while tracking down clues in multiple time periods and world regions to where the rings originated and why the portal was open in the first place. Simultaneous eBook.


Awards

The Sixty-Eight Rooms

Speaking Engagements

Speaking Engagement Availability (Yes)

Malone is available for school or Skype visits. To inquire about availability and fees email her at mailto mariannemalonebooks@gmail.com mariannemalonebooks@gmail.com or visit http //www.randomhouse.com/teachers/set-up-a-visit/