Terry Brooks

From Illinois Authors
Jump to: navigation, search

General Information

Name: Terry Brooks

Pen Name: None

Born: 1944 in Sterling, Illinois

Website: www.terrybrooks.net

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/officialterrybrooks

Twitter: https://twitter.com/officialbrooks

Email: See the "Contact" page on the author's website.

Illinois Connection

Brooks was born in the rural midwestern town of Sterling, Illinois, and spent a large part of his life living there.

Biographical and Professional Information

Terry Brooks is one of the biggest-selling living fantasy fiction writers with 20+ New York Times bestsellers and over 21 million copies of his books in print. He has also written two movie novelizations. Brooks was a practicing attorney before becoming a full-time author and now resides in Seattle, Washington.

Published Works

The Original Shannara Trilogy

  • The Sword of Shannara (1977)
  • The Elfstones of Shannara (1982)
  • The Wishsong of Shannara (1985)

The Heritage of Shannara Tetralogy

  • The Scions of Shannara (1990)
  • The Druid of Shannara (1991)
  • The Elf Queen of Shannara (1992)
  • The Talismans of Shannara (1993)

Prequel to the Original Shannara Trilogy

  • First King of Shannara (1996)

Word & Void Series

Precedes the action in the Genesis of Shannara Trilogy and serves as the very start of the Shannara saga.

  • Running with the Demon (1997)
  • A Knight of the Word (1998)
  • Angel Fire East (1999)

The Voyage of the Jerle Shannara Trilogy

  • Ilse Witch (2000)
  • Antrax (2001)
  • Morgawr (2002)

High Druid of Shannara Trilogy

  • Jarka Ruus (2003)
  • Tanequil (2004)
  • Straken (2005)

Genesis of Shannara Trilogy

  • Armageddon's Children (2006)
  • The Elves of Cintra (2007)
  • The Gypsy Morph (2008)

Legends of Shannara Duology

  • Bearers of the Black Staff (2010)
  • The Measure of the Magic (2011)

The Dark Legacy of Shannara Trilogy

Set 100 years after the events in the High Druid of Shannara Trilogy.

  • Wards of Faerie (2012)
  • Bloodfire Quest (2013)
  • Witch Wraith (2013)

The Defenders of Shannara Trilogy

Set 100 years after the events in the Dark Legacy of Shannara Trilogy.

  • The High Druids Blade (2014)
  • The Darkling Child (forthcoming in 2015)
  • Book Three (forthcoming in 2016)

Shannara related works

  • The Guide to Shannara (1986)
  • The World of Shannara (2001) - written with Teresa Patterson (Revised edition Fall 2009)
  • Dark Wraith of Shannara (2008)

Magic Kingdom of Landover Series

  • Magic Kingdom for Sale — SOLD! (1986)
  • The Black Unicorn (1987)
  • Wizard at Large (1988)
  • The Tangle Box (1994)
  • Witches' Brew (1995)
  • A Princess of Landover (2009)

Titles for Purchase and at Your Library

The Sword of Shannara

ISBN: 034524804X
Release Date: 1977-03-12

Find on World Cat

The Elfstones of Shannara

ISBN: 1904233988
Release Date: 2006

Find on World Cat

First King of Shannara (The Sword of Shannara)

ISBN: 0345396529
Release Date: 1996-03-19

Find on World Cat

A Knight of the Word (Word and the Void)

ISBN: 0345492579
Release Date: 2007-05-29

Find on World Cat

Angel Fire East (Word and the Void)

ISBN: 0345492587
Release Date: 2007-06-26

Find on World Cat

The Heritage of Shannara

ISBN: 0345465547
Release Date: 2003-08-26

Find on World Cat

The Sword of Shannara Trilogy

ISBN: 0345453751
Release Date: 2002-08-27

Find on World Cat

The Magic Kingdom of Landover, Vol. 1

ISBN: 0345513525
Release Date: 2009-08-18

Find on World Cat

Literary Awards


Speaking Engagements and Upcoming Appearances

Speaking Engagement Availability: (Yes)

Contact Information:

Publisher - Ballantine/Del Ray

201 East 50th Street

New York, New York 10022

External Links

Terry Brooks on WorldCat

Terry Brooks on Amazon


This page can only be edited by Illinois Center for the Book staff, this author or this author's representatives. Please contact us for access.