Sherwood Anderson

From Illinois Authors
Jump to: navigation, search

General Information

Celebrated on the Illinois State Library Gwendolyn Brooks Building

Anderson Sherwood.jpg
Name: Sherwood Anderson

Pen Name: None

Genre:Fiction, Non-Fiction & Poetry

Born: September 13, 1876 in Camden, Ohio

Died: March 8, 1941 in Panama

Image Credit: The Sherwood Anderson Collection, (twm_oo8.jpg), Digital Library and Archives, University Libraries, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University,

Illinois Connection

Anderson worked as an advertising copywriter in Chicago.

Biographical and Professional Information

Sherwood Anderson was an important figure in the Chicago Renaissance, the movement that attracted world-wide attention to Chicago as a literary center around the time of the First World War. He was an important novelist, short story writer, essayist, poet and dramatist. He is most notable for his short stories, a number of which draw upon his Chicago experiences. Collections include Wintesburg, Ohio (1919), The Triumph of the Egg (1921), Horses and Men (1923) and Death in the Woods (1933). Novels include Poor White (1920), Dark Laughter (1925) and Beyond Desire (1932).

Published Works

  • Windy McPherson's Son, John Lane Company, 1916
  • Marching Men, John Lane Company, 1917
  • Winesburg, Ohio, B.W. Huebsch, 1919
  • Poor White, B.W. Huebsch, 1920
  • The Triumph of the Egg, B.W. Huebsch, 1921
  • Horses and Men, B.W. Huebsch, 1921
  • Many Marriages, B.W. Huebsch, 1923
  • A Story-Teller's Story, B.W. Huebsch, 1924
  • Modern Writer, Lantern Press, 1925
  • Dark Laughter, Boni & Liveright, 1925
  • Sherwood Anderson's Notebook, Boni & Liveright, 1926
  • Tar, A Midwest Childhood, Boni & Liverright, 1926
  • Hello Towns, Horace Liveright, 1929
  • Alice: the Lost Novel, E. Matthews Marrot, 1929
  • Nearer the Grass Roots, Westgate Press, 1929
  • Perhaps Women, H. Liveright, 1931
  • Beyond Desire, Boni & Liveright, 1932
  • Death in the Woods and Other Stories, Boni & Liveright, 1933
  • No Swank, The Centaur Press, 1934
  • Puzzled America, Scribner, 1935
  • Kit Brandon, C. Scribner's Sons, 1936
  • Dreiser: A Biography, 1936
  • Home Town, Alliance Book Corporation, 1940
  • San Francisco at Christmas, Quercus, 1941
  • Sherwood Anderson's Memoirs, Harcourt, Brace, 1942

Published posthumously:

  • Lives of Animals, Creative Co, 1966
  • Return to Winesburg, Ohio, University of North Carolina Press, 1967
  • Sherwood Anderson, the Writer at His Craft, P. P. Appel, 1979
  • The Teller's Tale, Union College Press, 1983
  • Writer's Diary: 1936-1941, 1987
  • Sherwood Anderson: Early Writings, Kent State University Press, 1989
  • Certain Thioings Last: The Selected Short Stories of Sherwood Anderson, Thunder's Mouth Press, 1995
  • Southern Odyssey: Selected Writings by Sherwood Anderson, University of Georgia Press, 1997

Titles at Your Library

Windy McPherson's Son

ISBN: 1598185977
Release Date: 2006-10-01

Find on World Cat

Marching Men (1917)

ISBN: 0548634785
Release Date: 2007-10-17

Find on World Cat

Winesburg, Ohio (Oxford World's Classics)

ISBN: 0199540721
Release Date: 2008-08-01

Find on World Cat

Horses and Men

ISBN: 0742655016
Release Date: 2007-12-10

Find on World Cat

Many Marriages

Release Date: 1923-01-01

A Story Teller's Story: The tale of an American writer's journey through his own imaginative world and through the world of facts, with many of his ... (Sweetwater Fiction: Reintroductions)

ISBN: 0472030833
Release Date: 2005-09-01

Find on World Cat

Dark Laughter

ISBN: 087140205X
Release Date: 1970-03-01

Find on World Cat

Sherwood Anderson's notebook;

ASIN: B00085D3NS
Release Date: 1926

Nearer the grass roots

ISBN: 0848200837
Release Date: 1977

Find on World Cat

Beyond desire

Release Date: 1961

Death in the Woods

Release Date: 1933

No Swank

Release Date: 1934

Puzzled America

ISBN: 0911858075
Release Date: 1970-06

Find on World Cat

Sherwood Anderson's Memoirs

Release Date: 1942

Southern Odyssey: Selected Writings by Sherwood Anderson

ISBN: 082031899X
Release Date: 1997-09-01

Find on World Cat

Literary Awards

  • Name engraved on the frieze of the Illinois State Library alongside other great Illinois literary figures, 1990
  • Chicago Literary Hall of Fame, 2012

External Links

Sherwood Anderson on WorldCat

The Sherwood Anderson Collection, Virginia Tech University Libraries

Classical Authors Directory: Sherwood Anderson


This page can only be edited by Illinois Center for the Book staff, this author or this author's representatives. Please contact us for access.