Raymond Benson

From Illinois Authors
Jump to: navigation, search

General Information

Benson Raymond.jpg
Name: Raymond Benson

Pen Name: David Michaels, Gabriel Hunt

Genre: Fiction & Non-Fiction

Born: September 6, 1955 in Midland, Texas

Website: www.raymondbenson.com

Email: admin@raymondbenson.com

Photo Credit: Romy Modlin

Illinois Connection

Benson moved to the suburbs of Chicago in 1993 and still resides there today. He currently teaches Film History at the College of DuPage.

Biographical and Professional Information

Raymond Benson has been an author, composer, computer game designer, stage director, film historian, and film genres instructor for over thirty years. He is also the fourth official author of the James Bond 007 novels.

Along with the books he has written, Benson also co-edited Ice Cold: Tales of Intrigue from the Cold War, with another Illinois author, Jeffery Deaver.

Published Works

  • James Bond Bedside Companion, Putnam, 1984, revised 1988
  • Zero Minus Ten, Putnam, 1997
  • Facts of Death, Putnam, 1998
  • High Time To Kill, Putnam, 1999
  • Doubleshot, Putnam, 2000
  • Never Dream of Dying, Putnam, 2001
  • Evil Hours, Twenty First Century Publishers, 2001, revised edition 2004
  • Man With the Red Tattoo, Penguin Group, 2002
  • Jethro Tull, Pocket Essential, 2002
  • Face Blind,Twenty First Century Publishers, 2003
  • Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell, Berkley, 2004 - Written under the pen name: David Michaels
  • Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Operation Barracuda, Berkley, 2005 - Written under the pen name: David Michaels
  • Sweetie Diamonds, Five Star, 2006
  • The Union Trilogy, Pegasus,, 2008
  • A Hard Day's Death, Leisure Books, 2008
  • Metal Gear Solid 1, Del Ray, 2008
  • Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty, Del Ray, 2009
  • Dark Side of the Morgue, Leisure Books, 2009
  • Choice of Weapons, Pegasus, 2010
  • Hunt through Napoleon's Web, 2011 - written under the pen name Gabriel Hunt
  • Torment, 2011
  • Artifact of Evil, 2011
  • The Black Stiletto, Oceanview Publishing, 2011
  • The Rock 'N' Roll Detective's Greatest Hits, 2011
  • Homefront - The Voice of Freedom, Del Ray, 2011 - written with John Milius
  • Hitman: Damnation, Del Ray, 2012
  • The Black Stiletto: Black & White, Oceanview Publishing, 2012
  • The Black Stiletto: Stars & Stripes, Oceanview Publishing, 2013
  • The Black Stiletto: Secrets & Lies, Oceanview Publishing, 2014
  • The Black Stiletto: Endings & Beginnings, Oceanview Publishing, 2014

Titles at Your Library

The James Bond Bedside Companion

ISBN: 1401102840
Release Date: 2001-09-16

Find on World Cat

High Time To Kill - 1st Edition/1st Printing

ISBN: 0340738766
Release Date: 1999

Find on World Cat

The Man with the Red Tattoo

ISBN: 0515135631
Release Date: 2003-04-29

Find on World Cat

Jethro Tull (Pocket Essential series)

ISBN: 1904048188
Release Date: 2002-09-01

Find on World Cat

James Bond: The Union Trilogy (James Bond 007)

ISBN: 9781605980072
Release Date: 2008-10

Find on World Cat

A Hard Day's Death (Spike Berenger Rock 'n' Roll Hit)

ISBN: 0843960639
Release Date: 2008-04

Find on World Cat

Literary Awards


Speaking Engagements and Upcoming Appearances

Speaking Engagement Availability: (Yes)

If you are interested in hiring Raymond as a speaker and/or a pianist, write to: admin@raymondbenson.com.

The James Bond Phenomenon Program Everything you want to know about James Bond 007, straight from Raymond Benson, the third official continuation author – and first American – commissioned by the Ian Fleming Estate to write original Bond novels (between 1996-2002). Slideshow presentation covers the life of Ian Fleming, history of the novels and the films, and Benson’s own experience as a Bond author. (Teens and Adults; 90 min; $200 plus travel expenses and permission to sell books)

External Links

Raymond Benson on WorldCat

Raymond Benson on Facebook


This page can only be edited by Illinois Center for the Book staff, this author or this author's representatives. Please contact us for access.