Ray Bradbury

From Illinois Authors
Jump to: navigation, search

General Information

Celebrated on the Illinois State Library Gwendolyn Brooks Building

Bradbury Ray.jpg
Name: Ray Bradbury

Pen Name: None

Genre: Science Fiction, Poetry, Fiction

Born: August 22, 1920 in Waukegan, Illinois with the given name of: Rae Douglas Bradbury

Died: June 5, 2012 in California

Ray Bradbury Website:http://www.raybradbury.com

Credit: Photo by Alan Light

Illinois Connection

Bradbury was born in Waukegan and lived there until 1934

Biographical and Professional Information

Ray Bradbury was a novelist, short-story writer, essayist, playwright, children's book author, screenwriter, and poet. He is one of the most celebrated fiction writers of our time and is also considered one of the most important figures in the development of science fiction literature.

He wrote the screenplay for John Huston’s classic adaptation of Moby Dick and has been nominated for an Academy Award. He adapted 65 of his stories for television’s The Ray Bradbury Theater and won an Emmy for his teleplay of The Halloween Tree. In 2000 Bradbury was honored by the National Book Foundation with a medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters. He is the recipient of the 2004 National Medal of Arts, the 2007 Pulitzer Prize Special Citation and the 2008 Illinois Literary Heritage Award from the Illinois Center for the Book.

Outside of his literary achievements, Ray Bradbury was the idea consultant and wrote the basic scenario for the United States Pavilion at the 1964 New York World's Fair. He conceived the metaphors for Spaceship Earth, EPCOT, Disney World, and he contributed to the conception of the Orbitron space ride at Euro-Disney, France. He was creative consultant for the Jon Jerde Partnership, the architectural firm that blueprinted the Glendale Galleria, The Westside Pavilion in Los Angeles, and Horton Plaza in San Diego.

Published Works

  • Dark Carnival, Arkham House, 1947 - Published in UK as The Small Assassin - Reprinted in 2001 with supplemental material by Gauntlet Press, edited by Donn Albright
  • The Martian Chronicles, Doubleday, 1950 - Published in UK as The Silver Locusts
  • The Illustrated Man, 1951
  • Fahrenheit 451, Ballantine, 1953
  • The Golden Apples of the Sun, 1953
  • The October Country, 1955
  • Switch On the Night, 1955
  • Dandelion Wine, Doubleday, 1957
  • Sun and Shadow, 1957
  • A Medicine For Melancholy, 1959 - Published in UK as The Day It Rained Forever
  • Something Wicked This Way Comes, Simon & Schuster, 1962
  • R Is For Rocket, 1962
  • The Machineries of Joy, 1964
  • The Autumn People, Ballantine, 1965
  • The Vintage Bradbury, 1965
  • S Is For Space, 1966
  • Tomorrow Midnight, Ballantine, 1966
  • Twice 22, 1966 - Collects the stories in A Medicine for Melancholy & The Golden Apples of the Sun
  • I Sing the Body Electric, 1969
  • Old Ahab's Friend, and Friend to Noah, Speaks His Piece, Roy A. Squires Press, 1971 - Limited edition of 485 numbered copies
  • The Halloween Tree, 1972
  • When Elephants Last In The Dooryard Bloomed, 1973
  • Long After Midnight, 1976
  • Where Robot Mice and Robot Men Run 'Round in Robot Towns, 1977
  • The God in Science Fiction, Santa Susanna Press, 1978
  • The Mummies of Guanajuato, 1978
  • Twin Hieroglyphs that Swim the River Dust, 1978
  • Beyond 1984: Remembrance of Things Future, 1979
  • This Attic Where the Meadow Greens, 1979
  • The Ghosts of Forever, 1980
  • The Last Circus and the Electrocution, 1980
  • Stories of Ray Bradbury, 1980 - Includes 100 of Bradbury's best stories, including six previously uncollected tales
  • About Norman Corwin, Santa Suzana Press, 1980
  • The Complete Poems of Ray Bradbury, 1981
  • The Haunted Computer and the Android Pope, 1981
  • There Is Life On Mars, Reader's Digest Press, 1981
  • The Love Affair, 1982
  • The Other Foot, Perfection Form Co., 1982
  • The Veldt, Perfection Form Co., 1982
  • Dinosaur Tales, 1983
  • The Last Good Kiss, Santa Susana Press, 1984
  • A Memory of Murder, 1984
  • Long After Ecclesiastes, Gold Stein Press, 1985
  • Death is a Lonely Business, Knopf, 1985
  • The April Witch: A Creative Classic, Creative Education, Inc., 1987
  • Death Has Lost Its Charm For Me, Lord John Press, 1987
  • Fahrenheit 451 /The Illustrated Man /Dandelion Wine /The Golden Apples of the Sun /The Martian Chronicles, 1987
  • Fever Dream, 1987
  • The Fog Horn: A Creative Classic, Creative Education, Inc., 1987
  • The Other Foot: A Creative Classic, Creative Education, Inc., 1987
  • The Veldt: A Creative Classic, Creative Education, Inc., 1987
  • The Dragon, 1988
  • The Toynbee Convector, 1988
  • The Climate of Palettes, Lord John Press, 1989 - Signed and numbered limited edition of 150
  • Zen in the Art of Writing, 1990
  • Classic Stories Volume One, 1990
  • Classic Stories Volume Two, 1990
  • A Graveyard for Lunatics, Knopf, 1990
  • Selected from Dark They Were, and Golden-Eyed, 1991
  • Green Shadows, White Whale, 1992
  • The Stars, 1993
  • The Other Foot, 1993
  • Quicker Than the Eye, Avon Books, 1996
  • Driving Blind, 1997
  • Ahmed and the Oblivion Machines, 1998
  • Christus Apollo, Gold Stein Press, 1998
  • Witness and Celebrate, Lord John Press, 2000
  • From the Dust Returned: A Family Remembrance, 2001
  • One More for the Road: A New Short Story Collection, 2002
  • I Live By the Invisible, 2002
  • Let`s All Kill Constance, William Morrow, 2003
  • The Cat's Pajamas: Stories, Harper, 2005
  • We'll Always Have Paris, Harper, 2010

Titles at Your Library

Golden Apples of the Sun, The

ISBN: 0380730391
Release Date: 1997-11-01

Find on World Cat

The October Country

ISBN: 0380973871
Release Date: 1999-09-07

Find on World Cat

Switch on the Night

ISBN: 0375806083
Release Date: 2000-08-08

Find on World Cat

Dandelion Wine

ISBN: 0380977265
Release Date: 1999-02-01

Find on World Cat

Sun and shadow

ASIN: B0006EO97A
Release Date: 1957

Something Wicked This Way Comes

ISBN: 0380977273
Release Date: 1999-06-08

Find on World Cat

R Is for Rocket

Release Date: 1965

The Machineries of Joy

ISBN: 0586043616
Release Date: 1977

Find on World Cat

The Halloween Tree

ISBN: 1887368809
Release Date: 2005-11

Find on World Cat

When Elephants Last in the Dooryard Bloomed

ISBN: 0246108282
Release Date: 1975-01-06

Find on World Cat

The Haunted Computer and the Android Pope

ISBN: 0394514440
Release Date: 1981-07-12

Find on World Cat

A Graveyard for Lunatics: Another Tale of Two Cities

ISBN: 0380812002
Release Date: 2001-06-26

Find on World Cat

They Have Not Seen the Stars: The Collected Poetry of Ray Bradbury

ISBN: 1588810380
Release Date: 2002-07-01

Find on World Cat

Ahmed and the Oblivion Machines: A Fable

ISBN: 0380977044
Release Date: 1998-11-11

Find on World Cat

Christus Apollo: Cantata celebrating the eighth day of Creation and the promise of the ninth

ISBN: 0938237063
Release Date: 1998

Find on World Cat

Literary Awards

  • O. Henry Memorial Award, 1954
  • Benjamin Franklin Award, 1954
  • Aviation-Space Writer's Association Award for best space article in an American Magazine, 1967
  • World Fantasy Award for Lifetime Achievement, Science Fiction Writers of America, 1977
  • Grand Master Award, Science Fiction Writers of America, 1977
  • Name engraved on the frieze of the Illinois State Library alongside other great Illinois literary figures, 1990
  • Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters, National Book Foundation, 2000
  • Star on Hollywood Walk of Fame, 2002
  • National Medal of Arts, 2004
  • Pulitzer Prize Special Citation, 2007
  • Illinois Literary Heritage Award, Illinois Center for the Book, 2008

External Links

Ray Bradbury on WorldCat


This page can only be edited by Illinois Center for the Book staff, this author or this author's representatives. Please contact us for access.