Philip K. Dick

From Illinois Authors
Jump to: navigation, search

General Information

Name: Philip K. Dick

Pen Name: Richard Philips, Jack Dowland, Horselover Fat, PKD

Genres: Science Fiction

Born: December 16, 1928 in Chicago, Illinois

Deceased: March 2, 1982 in Santa Ana, California

Illinois Connection

Dick was born in Chicago.

Biographical and Professional Information

Philip K. Dick was a science fiction novelist and short story writer. He wrote 36 science fiction novels, 9 realist novels and 121 short stories. He also wrote radio plays, TV outlines, screenplays, essays and poetry.

His book, Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? was adapted for the motion picture Blade Runner. In all, nine of his stories were adapted into popular films including Total Recall, A Scanner Darkly and Minority Report.

Published Works

Solar Lottery, Vintage Books, 1955

The World Jones Made, 1956

The Man Who Japed, 1956

Eye in the Sky, 1957

The Cosmic Puppets, 1957

Time Out of Joint, 1959

Dr. Futurity, 1960

Vulcan's Hammer, 1960

The Game-Players of Titan, 1963

The Penultimate Truth, 1964

Martian Time-Slip, 1964

The Simulacra, 1964

Clans of the Alphane Moon, 1964

The Three Stigmata of Palmer Eldritch, 1965

Dr. Bloodmoney, 1965

Now Wait for Last Year, 1966

The Crack in Space, 1966

The Unteleported Man, 1966

The Zap Gun, 1967

Counter-Clock World, 1967

The Ganymede Takeover, 1967 - written with Ray Nelson

Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?, 1968

Galactic Pot-Healer, 1969

Ubik, 1969

A Maze of Death, 1970

Our Friends from Frolix 8, 1970

We Can Build You, 1972

Confessions of a Crap Artist, 1975

Deus Irae, 1976 - written with Roger Zelazny

A Scanner Darkly, 1977

VALIS, 1981

The Divine Invasion, 1981

The Transmigration of Timothy Archer, 1982

The Man Whose Teeth Were All Exactly Alike, 1984

Radio Free Albemuth, 1985

Puttering About in a Small Land, 1985

In Milton Lumky Territory, 1985

Humpty Dumpty in Oakland, 1986

Mary and the Giant, 1987

The Broken Bubble, 1988

Nick and the Glimmung, 1988

Gather Yourselves Together, 1994

Lies, Inc., 1964

Titles at Your Library

Solar Lottery (GollanczF.)

ISBN: 0575074558
Release Date: 2003-08-01

Find on World Cat

The World Jones Made

ISBN: 0679742190
Release Date: 1993-06-29

Find on World Cat

The Man Who Japed

ISBN: 0375719350
Release Date: 2002-11-12

Find on World Cat

Eye in the Sky: A Novel

ISBN: 1400030102
Release Date: 2003-06-10

Find on World Cat

Time Out of Joint

ISBN: 037571927X
Release Date: 2002-05-14

Find on World Cat

Dr. Futurity: A Novel

ISBN: 1400030099
Release Date: 2005-08-09

Find on World Cat

The Game-Players of Titan

ISBN: 0679740651
Release Date: 1992-06-30

Find on World Cat

Martian Time-Slip

ISBN: 0679761675
Release Date: 1995-05-30

Find on World Cat

The Simulacra

ISBN: 0375719261
Release Date: 2002-05-14

Find on World Cat

Clans of the Alphane Moon

ISBN: 0375719288
Release Date: 2002-05-14

Find on World Cat

The Three Stigmata of Palmer Eldritch

ISBN: 0679736662
Release Date: 1991-12-03

Find on World Cat

The Crack in Space: A Novel

ISBN: 1400030064
Release Date: 2005-03-08

Find on World Cat

Unteleported Man

ISBN: 042506252X
Release Date: 1983-07-01

Find on World Cat

The Zap Gun

ISBN: 0375719369
Release Date: 2002-11-12

Find on World Cat

Ganymede Takeover

Release Date: 1967

Oxford Bookworms Library: Level 5:: Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? (Oxford Bookworms ELT)

ISBN: 0194792226
Release Date: 2007-12-06

Find on World Cat

Galactic Pot-Healer

ISBN: 0679752978
Release Date: 1994-05-31

Find on World Cat

Ubik (Solaris) (Spanish Edition)

ISBN: 8498003180
Release Date: 2007-04-30

Find on World Cat

Our Friends from Frolix 8

ISBN: 0375719342
Release Date: 2003-03-11

Find on World Cat

We Can Build You

ISBN: 067975296X
Release Date: 1994-05-31

Find on World Cat

Confessions of a Crap Artist

ISBN: 0679741143
Release Date: 1992-06-30

Find on World Cat

Deus Irae: A Novel

ISBN: 1400030072
Release Date: 2003-11-11

Find on World Cat

A Scanner Darkly [Graphic Novel]

ISBN: 0375424024
Release Date: 2006-07-04

Find on World Cat

The Divine Invasion

ISBN: 0679734457
Release Date: 1991-07-02

Find on World Cat

In Milton Lumky Territory

ISBN: 0765316951
Release Date: 2008-04-29

Find on World Cat

Mary and the Giant (GollanczF.)

ISBN: 0575074663
Release Date: 2005-06-01

Find on World Cat

The Broken Bubble

ISBN: 0586090665
Release Date: 1991-08-08

Find on World Cat

Nick and the Glimmung (Piper)

ISBN: 0330314742
Release Date: 1990-07-13

Find on World Cat

Gather Yourselves Together

ISBN: 1878914057
Release Date: 1994-12-31

Find on World Cat

Literary Awards

  • Hugo Award for The Man in the High Castle
  • John W. Campbell Memorial Award for Flow My Tears, the Policeman Said, 1974
  • Grand Prix du Festival at Metz, France for A Scanner Darkly, 1979
  • Playboy Magazine's award for best short story for Frozen Journey, 1980
  • Inducted as a member of the Science Fiction Hall of Fame, 2005
  • Time Magazine's 100 best English-language novels from 1923 - 2006 for UBIK
  • Inducted into Library of America, 2007

External Links

Philip K. Dick on WorldCat


This page can only be edited by Illinois Center for the Book staff, this author or this author's representatives. Please contact us for access.