Lynn Hall

From Illinois Authors
Jump to: navigation, search

General Information

Name: Lynn Hall

Pen Name: None

Born: 1937 in Lombard, Illinois

Website: N/A

Email: N/A

Illinois Connection

Lynn was born in Lombard, Illinois.

Biographical and Professional Information

Lynn Hall is especially known for her sensitive writing of character development of young adults. She is the author of numerous books for young people including: "Kids and Dog Shows" and "Careers for Dog Lovers."

Her two favorite topics to write about are dogs and horses. She has been active in a number of breeds and is deeply involve in dog club activities and educational initiatives for the sport.

Many of her books have been published abroad, and many have been given the American Library Association’s Best Books designation. One of her dog stories, Barry, The Bravest St. Bernard, has been in print continuously for more than thirty years and was recently re-released by Random House. It was also a Disney made-for-TV movie.

Miss Hall lives in the beautiful hill country of northeast Iowa, in a stone cottage she built herself, with her family of dogs. She is retired from writing now, but enjoys helping other writers get started.

Published Works

  • The Shy Ones, Follett, 1967
  • The Secret of Stonehouse, Follett, 1968
  • Ride a Wild Dream, Follett, 1969
  • Too Near the Sun, Follett, 1970
  • Gently Touch the Milkweed, Follett, 1970
  • A Horse Called Dragon, Follett, 1971
  • The Famous Battle of Bravery Creek, Follett, 1972
  • The Siege of Silent Harry, Follett, 1972
  • Sticks and Stones, Follett, 1972
  • Lynn Hall's Dog Stories, Follett, 1972
  • Flash, Dog of Old Egypt, Garrard, 1973
  • Barry, The Bravest Saint Bernard, Garrard, 1973
  • Riff, Remember, Follett, 1973
  • To Catch A Tartar, Follett, 1973
  • The Stray, Follett, 1974
  • Bob, Watchdog of the River, Garrard, 1974
  • Troublemaker, Follett, 1974
  • New Day for Dragon, Follett, 1975
  • Kids and Dog Shows, Follett, 1975
  • Careers for Dog Lovers, Follett, 1975
  • Captain: Canada's Flying Pony, Garrard, 1976
  • Flowers of Anger, Follett, 1976
  • Owney, The Traveling Dog, Garrard, 1977
  • Dragon Defiant, Follett, 1977
  • Shadows, Follett, 1977
  • The Mystery of Pony Hollow, Garrard, 1978
  • Careers for Dog Lovers, Follett, 1978
  • The Mystery of the Lost and Found Hound, Garrard, 1979
  • The Mystery of Schoolhouse Dog, Garrard, 1979
  • The Whispered Horse, Follett, 1979
  • Dog of Bondi Castle, Follett, 1979
  • The Leaving, Scribner, 1980
  • Dragon's Delight, Follett, 1980
  • The Mystery of the Stubborn Old Man, 1980
  • The Mystery of Plum Park Pony, Garrard, 1980
  • The Haunting of the Green Bird, Follett, 1980
  • The Disappearing Granddad, Follett, 1980
  • The Mysterious Moortown Bridge, Follett, 1980
  • The Ghost of the Great River Inn, Follett, 1981
  • The Horse Trader, Scribner, 1981
  • The Mystery of the Caramel Cat, Garrard, 1981
  • Danza!, Scribner, 1981
  • Half the Battle, Scribner, 1981
  • Tin Can Tucker, Scribner, 1982
  • Dennison's Daughter, Scribner, 1983
  • Megan's Mare, Scribner, 1983
  • The Mystery of Pony Hollow Panda, Garrard, 1983
  • Nobody's Dog, Scholastic, 1984
  • Uphill All the Way, Scribner, 1984
  • The Boy in the Off-White Hat, Scribner, 1984
  • The Giver, Scribner, 1985
  • The Something-Special Horse, Scribner, 1985
  • Just One Friend, Scribner, 1985
  • Tazo and Me, Scribner, 1985
  • If Winter Comes, Scribner, 1986
  • The Solitary, Scribner, 1986
  • Danger Dog, Scribner, 1986
  • Mrs. Portree's Pony, Scribner, 1986
  • Letting Go, Scribner, 1987
  • Flyaway, Scribner, 1987
  • In Trouble Again, Zelda Hammersmith?, Harcourt, 1987
  • Ride A Dark Horse, Morrow, 1987
  • A Killing Freeze, Morrow, 1988
  • Zelda Strikes Again!, Harcourt, 1988
  • Murder at the Spaniel Show, Scribner, 1988
  • The Secret Life of Dagmar Schultz, Scribner, 1988
  • Dagmar Schultz and the Powers of Darkness, Scribner, 1988
  • Dagmar Shultz and the Angel Edna, Scribner, 1989
  • Here Comes Zelda Clause!: And Other Holiday Disasters, Harcourt, 1989
  • Where Have All the Tigers Gone?, Scribner, 1989
  • The Tormentors, Harcourt, 1990
  • Fair Maiden, Scribner, 1990
  • Halsy's Pride, Scribner, 1990
  • Murder in a Pig`s Eye, Harcourt, 1990
  • Dagmar Schultz and the Green Eyed Monster, Scribner, 1991
  • Flying Changes, Harcourt, 1991
  • The Soul of the Silver Dog, Harcourt, 1992
  • Windsong, Scribner, 1992
  • The Mystery of the Phantom Pony, Random House, 1993
  • Dog Shows for Beginners, Howell Book House, 1994
  • Loves Return, Thomas Bouregy, 1996

Titles for Purchase and at Your Library

Dog Showing for Beginners (Howell reference books)

ISBN: 0876054084
Release Date: 1994-10-13

Find on World Cat

Kids and dog shows

ISBN: 0695404822
Release Date: 1975

Find on World Cat

Tazo and Me

ISBN: 0684183056
Release Date: 1985-11

Find on World Cat

DAGMAR SCHULTZ & THE ANGEL EDNA (Charles Scribner's Sons books for young readers)

ISBN: 0684190974
Release Date: 1989-09-30

Find on World Cat

Love's Return

ISBN: 0803491670
Release Date: 1996-04-24

Find on World Cat

The Soul of the Silver Dog

ISBN: 0679847588
Release Date: 1994-05-17

Find on World Cat


ISBN: 0684194392
Release Date: 1992-10-31

Find on World Cat

Murder in a Pig's Eye

ISBN: 0152562680
Release Date: 1990-06

Find on World Cat

Literary Awards

Book of the Year selections from the Child Study Association of America include:

  • 1969 - Ride a Wild Dream
  • 1970 - Too Near the Sun and Gently Touch the Milkweed
  • 1973 - To Carch a Tartar and Barry, the Bravest St. Bernard
  • 1975 - New Day for Dragon
  • 1985 - Just One Friend
  • 1987 - Mrs. Portree's Pony

Charles W. Follett Award for A Horse Called Dragon in 1971

Best Young Adult Books selections by the American Library Association include:

  • 1972 - Sticks and Stones
  • 1980 - The Leaving
  • 1984 - Uphill All the Way

Netherlands' Silver Quill Award for Sticks and Stones in 1976

Edgar Allen Poe Award runner up from the Mystery Writers of America for The Whispering Horse in 1980

The Leaving was:

  • selected as one of the Best Young Adult Books by the American Library Association in 1980
  • received the Boston Globe-Horn Book Award for fiction in 1981
  • selected as one of New York Public Library's books for teenagers in 1981 and 1982

Tennessee Children's Choice Award from the Tennessee Library Association for Shadows in 1981

One of New York Public Library's books for teenagers for The Horse Trader in 1982

One of the best young adult books by the American Library Assocation for Uphill All the Way in 1984

Outstanding Science Trade Book for Chiildren by the National Science Teachers Association and the Children's Book Council for Tazo and Me in 1985

Golden Kite Award Honor Book for Fiction from the Society of Children's Book Writers for The Solitary in 1986

Children's Literature Award from the Society of Midland Authors for Mrs. Portree's Pony in 1987

Johnson Bringham Award from the Iowa State Historical Society for The Secret Life of Dagmar Schultz in 1989

Speaking Engagements and Upcoming Appearances

Speaking Engagement Availability: (No)

External Links

Lynn Hall on WorldCat

Lynn Hall on Amazon


This page can only be edited by Illinois Center for the Book staff, this author or this author's representatives. Please contact us for access.