Dorothy Salisbury Davis

From Illinois Authors
Jump to: navigation, search

General Information

Name: Dorothy Salisbury Davis

Pen Name: None

Genres: Fiction, Mystery, Crime, Historical Fiction

Born: April 25, 1916 in Chicago, Illinois

Died: August 7, 2014 in Palisades, New York

Illinois Connection

Davis was born and raised in Chicago.

Biographical and Professional Information

Dorothy Davis was an award winning writer. She was the author of 20 novels, seventeen of which were mysteries and three were historical novels. She also wrote numerous short stories.

In 1985, The Mystery Writers of America gave Mrs. Davis a lifetime achievement award, and she came to be regarded as a grande dame among crime writers. She helped found Sisters in Crime in 1986.

Davis spent her early childhood in Rhinelander, Wisconsin and in Chicago. She studied literature at Barat College in Lake Forest, Illinois and graduated in 1938. Davis worked for Swift & Co. in Chicago, Illinois as a research librarian and was an editor of The Merchandiser. She was a member of the board of directors of the Palisades Free Library, an honorary member of board of directors of the Rockland County Center for the Arts and a member of the Adams Round Table.

She was married to actor, Harry Davis, until his death in 1993. They were married for 47 years. At the time of her death, Davis lived in Palisades, New York. Her literary agency was McIntosh & Otis, Inc., in New York City.

Published Works

The Judas Cat, Bantam, 1949

A Gentle Murderer, Scribner's, 1951

The Clay Hand, Bantam, 1952

Men of No Property, Scribner’s, 1956

A Gentleman Called, Dell, 1958

Old Sinners Never Die, Scribner's, 1960

Death of an Old Sinner, Ballantine, 1961

Black Sheep, White Lamb, Scribner's, 1964

The Pale Betrayer, Avon, 1965

Enemy and Brother, Scribner's, 1967

God Speed the Night, Scribner's, 1969 - written with Jerome Ross

Where the Dark Streets Go, Avon, 1970

Crime without Murder, Victor Gollancz, 1972

Shock Wave, Scribner's, 1974

Little Brothers, Barker, 1974

A Death in the Life, Vivisphere Publishing , 1976

Scarlet Night, Scribner's, 1980

Lullaby of Murder, Worldwide Library, 1984

Tales for a Stormy Night, Foul Play, 1984

The Habit of Fear, Worldwide Library, 1987

In the Still of the Night, Five Star, 2001

A Town of Masks, Dell, 2001

Titles for Purchase and at Your Library

The Judas Cat

Release Date: 1951

Clay Hand

Release Date: 1952-01-01

Death of An Old Sinner

ISBN: 0345346629
Release Date: 1987

Find on World Cat

Where the Dark Streets Go

ISBN: 0380701316
Release Date: 1986-09

Find on World Cat

Crime without Murder

ISBN: 0575014067
Release Date: 1972-05-04

Find on World Cat

Little Brothers

ISBN: 0213164736
Release Date: 1974-08-08

Find on World Cat

A Death in the Life

ISBN: 1892323869
Release Date: 1976-12-01

Find on World Cat

Scarlet Night

ISBN: 0380551292
Release Date: 1981-05

Find on World Cat

Lullaby Of Murder

ISBN: 0373260210
Release Date: 1989-02-01

Find on World Cat

Tales for a Stormy Night

Release Date: 1984

The Habit Of Fear

ISBN: 0373260318
Release Date: 1989-08-01

Find on World Cat

A Town of Masks

Release Date: 1955-01-01

Literary Awards

Seven Edgar nominations

Mystery Writers of America Grandmaster Award in 1985

External Links

Dorothy Salisbury Davis on WorldCat

Dorothy Salisbury Davis on Amazon


This page can only be edited by Illinois Center for the Book staff, this author or this author's representatives. Please contact us for access.