Barbara Mertz

From Illinois Authors
Jump to: navigation, search

General Information

Name: Barbara Mertz

Pen Name: Elizabeth Peters, Barbara Michaels

Genres: Fiction, Non-Fiction

Born: 1928

Deceased: August 8, 2013 in Frederick, Maryland


Illinois Connection

Mertz grew up in small-town Illinois during the Depression. Her family moved to a Chicago suburb when she was in 4th grade. She attended Oak Park-River Forest High School and went to the University of Chicago.

Biographical and Professional Information

Mertz wrote more than 35 mysteries under thename Elizabeth Peters, including her most popular series about a daring Victorian archaeologist namesd Amelia Peabody. She also wrote 29 suspense novels under the pen name Barbara Michaels, and under her own name, she wrote nonfiction books about ancient Egypt.

In 1950, Mertz received her MA from the University of Chicago. She so loved archaeology and was drawn to Egyptology that she received her Ph.D in 1952 from the Oriental Institute of the University of Chicago.

Mertz married in 1950. After moving to Germany with her husband, she tried her hand at writing. She wrote two nonfiction books about Egypt under her name before having her first fiction book published, The Master of Blacktower, under the Michael's name.

Mertz passed on August 8, 2013 at her home in Frederick, Maryland.

Published Works

Under the name, Barbara Mertz:

  • Temples, Tombs and Hieroglyphs
  • Red Land, Black Land

Under the Pen Name, Elizabeth Peters:

Amelia Peabody Series:

  • Crocodile on the Sandbank, Mysterious Press, 1988
  • The Curse of the Pharaohs, Mysterious Press, 1988
  • The Mummy Case, Harper, 2011
  • Lion in the Valley, Harper, 2011
  • Deeds of the Disturber
  • The Last Camel Died at Noon
  • The Snake, the Crocodile & the Dog, Grand Central Publishing, 1994
  • The Hippopotamus Pool, Grand Central Publishing, 1997
  • The Ape Who Guards the Balance
  • The Falcon at the Portal
  • He Shall Thunder in the Sky, Harper, 2010
  • Lord of the Silent
  • The Golden One
  • Children of the Storm
  • Guardian of the Horizon
  • The Serpent on the Crown, Avon, 2006
  • Tomb of the Golden Bird, Harper , 2007
  • A River in the Sky, William Morrow, 2010

Vicky Bliss Series:

  • Borrower of the Night
  • Street of Five Moons
  • Silhouette in Scarlet
  • Trojan Gold
  • Night Train to Memphis
  • The Laughter of Dead Kings

Jacqueline Kirby Series:

  • The Seventh Sinner
  • Murders of Richard III
  • Die for Love
  • Naked Once More


  • The Jackal's Head
  • The Camelot Caper
  • The Dead Sea Cipher
  • The Night of 400 Rabbits
  • Legend in Green Velvet
  • Devil-May-Care
  • The Love Talker
  • Summer of the Dragon
  • Copenhagen Connection

Under the Pen Name, Barbara Michaels:

  • The Master of Blacktower
  • Sons of the Wolf
  • Ammie Come Home
  • Prince of Darkness
  • The Dark on the Other Side
  • The Crying Child
  • Greygallows
  • Witch
  • House of Many Shadows
  • Sea King's Daughter
  • Patriot"s Dream
  • Wings of the Falcon
  • Wait for What Will Come
  • The Walker in Shadows
  • The Wizard's Daughter
  • Someone in the House
  • Black Rainbow
  • Here I Stay
  • The Grey Beginning
  • Be Buried in the Rain
  • Shattered Silk
  • Search the Shadows
  • Smoke and Mirrors
  • Into the Darkness
  • Vanish with the Rose
  • Houses of Stone
  • Stitches in Time
  • The Dancing Floor
  • Other Worlds

Short Stories:

  • The Runaway (Barbara Michaels)
  • The Locked Tomb Mystery (Elizabeth Peters)
  • Elizabeth Peters, P.I. (Elizabeth Peters)

Titles for Purchase and at Your Library

Crocodile on the Sandbank (Amelia Peabody)

ISBN: 0445406518
Release Date: 1988

Find on World Cat

The Curse of the Pharaohs (Amelia Peabody, Book 2)

ISBN: 0445406488
Release Date: 1988-02-01

Find on World Cat

The Hippopotamus Pool (Amelia Peabody, Book 8)

ISBN: 0446603988
Release Date: 1997-06-01

Find on World Cat

The Serpent on the Crown (Amelia Peabody Series)

ISBN: 006059179X
Release Date: 2006-03-28

Find on World Cat

Tomb of the Golden Bird (Amelia Peabody Series)

ISBN: 0060591811
Release Date: 2007-03-27

Find on World Cat

He Shall Thunder in the Sky: An Amelia Peabody Novel of Suspense (Amelia Peabody Series)

ISBN: 006195165X
Release Date: 2010-02-23

Find on World Cat

A River in the Sky: A Novel (Amelia Peabody Mysteries)

ISBN: 0061246263
Release Date: 2010-04-06

Find on World Cat

Literary Awards

Grandmaster Lifetime Achievement Award from the Mystery Writers of America, 1998

External Links

Barbara Mertz on WorldCat

Barbara Mertz on Amazon


This page can only be edited by Illinois Center for the Book staff, this author or this author's representatives. Please contact us for access.